Personal Musings

I CALLED YOU TO SOMETHING MORE.

I’m sure we’ve all been there – those moments when someone gets on our nerves, says something uncalled for [or possibly that they didn’t think it through before it came out of their mouths] or seem to be displaying mad pride which they need to deal with [at least…well at least YOU think so, haha – doesn’t that say something about ourselves? haha]…

I’ve definitely been in those situations of late. Feeling frustrated that people seem to think I’m on some prolonged holiday doing nothing because I don’t hold a conventional job right now; feeling annoyed that someone acts like they have everything sorted out and that I’m below them because I don’t….

But then. I remind myself – this is why we need grace. This is why they need grace. For judging me for things that they do not understand. This is why I MYSELF need grace – for judging someone for things that I may not completely understand. Yet I then remember that God is a god of personal, unique relationships – that just because someone’s salvation looks different to mine, doesn’t necessarily make their walk wrong.

 

And that is why love is a COMMAND, right? Because its never easy to love someone in an unconditional way through our eyes, when WE see the world in a certain way – tunnel vision? – while God can see the WHOLE picture.

God spoke and told me, “I called you to love. Just to LOVE people.” – so I repent of those thoughts…because we need to accept each other as we ARE. That we are all different. And just love them nevertheless.

 

Romans 12:3 “For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you.”

Romans 12:6a “We have different gifts, according to the grace given us…”

Philippians 2:1-4 “If you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any tenderness and compassion, then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and purpose. Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.”

 

In other news – Andy Mineo’s new EP ‘Neverland’ dropped yesterday – and while I don’t love ALL of the album’s beats….the lyrics are definitely ALL on point and convict me to think more about my own life and where I came from…so I definitely need to highlight a few tracks on a blog here soon:)) Check it out at  http://reach.merchline.com/products/andy-mineo-never-land!

 

for now – one of my favourite tracks from his EP…more later!

 

be blessed!

 

Beckii x

Standard

Leave a Reply

