Personal Musings

APPRECIATION.

Been feeling kind of under appreciated recently. Could be a bit of a selfish feeling, but even though I’ve tried to pray through it and make it go away, it’s still there – that little niggling feeling that no one actually cares about you, or what you’re doing.

So I ask myself – what AM I doing? Am I actually doing anything worth anything? Or is this all one big ‘holiday’ and I’m being a waste of space? Do I even matter?

 

So I realise – we look to certain people in our lives for validation. Because it is THEIR positive reinforcement that we want. It is our loved ones, the ones we consider important; that their opinions and love matter (the most…or at all).

And then…I feel crushed when they don’t acknowledge. Be it on purpose, or just because life gets busy and they forget – it hurts, doesn’t it?

And then…I am reminded that – to rely on other humans for fulfilment is a volatile thing – we are all fallible to bad days, fluctuating emotions, periods of stress and busy times – so to look to others for validation means that we rely on them to complete how we feel about ourselves.

 

We care the most about the opinions of the people that we love – so…what about God? When do we tune out to the world…and realise that who HE thinks we are, matters the most?

Psalm 3:3-4 “But you are a shield around me, O Lord; You bestow glory on me and lift up my head, to the Lord I cry aloud, and he answers me from his holy hill.”

Jeremiah 1:5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as prophet to the nations.”

Isaiah 49:15-16 “Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you! See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands…”

Jeremiah 31:3 “…I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn to you with loving – kindness.”

 

Seek approval, seek love and focus on what is greater than this world….Beckii.

 

Blessings,

 

Beckii.

Standard

Leave a Reply

