Personal Musings

OPERATING FROM A POSITION OF FEAR

Long time no see, blog.

 

God’s really been teaching me a lot about fear lately in the last few months. And for me, its definitely been a new, and MORE than challenging experience for me to deal with, being the control freak that I am.

 

If you know me [which you may or may not…hello internetz] – I like making sure my life is organised and planned, especially as far into the future as I can make it. Because as we all know, the unknown is….scary. So dropping everything back in Australia last year to come to Korea to seek God and seek life was of course, somewhat out of character for me…

 

In many ways, I created my self inflicted, hectic lifestyle in the past as a way of distracting myself from reality and my fears of…well…everything – by making myself as busy as possible – but during the course of this year, been challenged more and more to step out of my comfort zone, to be placed into situations of which I have NO control whatsoever – God is teaching me to learn to let go.

 

And so here I am, at another transition point in my life – and its all or nothing. Go backwards to the way I was, or face my fears and LEARN. Learn to let go and LET GOD.

 

Times like this remind me that FEAR is not of God. For God IS love; and if we understand love to the greatest extent, then fear ceases to exist….

 

1 John 4:18 “There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.”

 

And even reminding myself of this verse and to embrace love, remember love and slap myself and my fears in the face…well, it aint easy. Not at all. Learning to focus on the positive and LET GO of the negative is so important, yet I fail to do this almost on the daily. By His strength, not mine!

 

God has great plans for you! As He does for me. We were created for something GREATER than anything we ever thought possible; but that involves trusting Him to guide us in the right way and knowing that HIS plans will always be greater than ours. For He can see what we cannot; we are children of God, and He is MINDFUL of us, no matter how much tunnel vision we have at a given time.

 

Matthew 10:29-31 “Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of our Father. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So dont’ be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.”

 

[to reiterate….he cares for creatures as small as sparrows. YOU IS NOT A BIRD. You’re more than that!]

 

So as stressful as it is, I’m almost glad [in some weird, sick, twisted way…hahahahhaah] that I’m getting this ‘new’ experience – as a chance for me to be forced to face my fears and worries and DEAL with them, more than I ever have before.

If we remember that God is with us, then why should we fear? Don’t our fears then become somewhat irrational, if we believe in God’s unconditional love, grace and PROMISE over us?

 

Hebrews 13:5b “..because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” “

 

Over the last few years since I became Christian, God pulled all the memories and fears up out of the locked box I kept hidden away in the recesses of my mind, up to the surface so I could face them [as much as I didn’t want to] – thinking over these worries and fears – how much freer would I be if I didn’t let all these little things plague my mind and blow themselves out of proportion?

 

My worries of money and logistical issues living in another country, my worries of being single forever/not finding THAT person for me, my worries of simply making mistakes and saying the wrong things, my worries of never being good enough…on closer inspection, what is the point of such worry? It’s USELESS. And makes mountains out of smaller things that perhaps, are not as stressful as we [I!] perceive them to be…

 

Worry is wasteful.

 

Matthew 6:26-27Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”

 

Matthew 6:31-34 “ So do not worry, saying ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness,a and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

 

 

We are called to FREEDOM in Christ! Put your worries at the cross, give it to Jesus because its his burden and not yours to take. Fear and doubt and worry is NOT of God – so as hard as it is [and as I myself try to let go and receive this and not freak out!], do NOT let this consume your life. God’s GOT this. All we gotta do is…BELIEVE:)

 

blessings,

 

Beckii.

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

